WHO’S the Therapist Here?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I am a psychologist. I have 2 dachshunds who come to the office with me everyday & sit in on nearly every session. They are excellent at maintaining client confidentiality and soothing upset or sad clients.

Scapa is 8yo black & tan male. Lila is 7yo chocolate & tan female. They are standards but more like tweens than miniatures. They are very affectionate & intuitive & great comforters for people who are upset or angry.

Sometimes my clients & I take them for a walk as part of the session.

Some of my clients really come to see my dogs NOT me!

My dogs have been regular visitors at one nursing home to visit my 100 yo grandmother. Both of them sit on her lap or sometimes she shares one with a friend sitting next to her. On request from the staff they go to the dementia section.

The people love them. It’s soooo rewarding to see them relax and smile & pat & cuddle the dogs.

Another interesting situation is how my dachshunds play with my nephew 6 years old. With Scapa, my nephew chases him for possession of a toy. However with Lila, she chases my nephew & adapted her style to encourage him to keep playing.

Both dogs will both automatically protect him from any perceived threat, like another person playing with him too roughly. My dachshunds weren’t taught to do any of this – they just did it. While my nephew is part of their pack, they love to meet & play with other children too!

Louise Smith     PSYCHOLOGIST
(Assoc MAPS) (QCT),
B. A. (Hons) (Psych) (Japanese & Music), Dip. T. Prim. & Spec. Ed. (Hearing Impaired)

Enoggera Health Practice  – Brisbane Queensland Australia
Please Email Me : 
smith.louise@optusnet.com.au

You can

  • Make Positive Life Changes – Improve Assertiveness and Self Esteem
  • Deal with Depression, Anxiety, Anger and Stress
  • Cope with Workplace Issues – Team work, Setting Goals, Problem solving 

 

#Psychology

#EMDR #Hypnotherapy  #Animaltherapy  #Arttherapy  #Meditation
for
#PTSD  #Trauma  #Suicide #PanicAttacks #Depression #Anxiety

Leave a comment